The Department of Health has withdrawn a circular stating that ministers, deputy ministers, premiers and MECs, together with their staff, would now be eligible to be vaccinated. The circular met with criticism on social media as it meant politicians and their staff would have been given preference. According to the circular individuals can be vaccinated at the request of the Presidency, the Minister of Health or the director-general for the department of health. The list also include diplomats and people travelling outside the country for work or business, students and sports people leaving SA

Meanwhile, acting Health Minister Mmaloko Kubayi- Ngubane tweeted that the circular was not approved by the Inter-Ministerial Committee (IMC) on vaccines.

Other news